Posts Tagged ‘ postseason awards ’

MLB Postseason Awards- Cy Young Award

More MLB postseason awards have been handed out over the past few days, and the Cy Young Award Winners were selected a few days ago. One winner is a first time winner that has overcome so much in life on and off the field. The other has been here before, and also he joined a pretty exclusive club.

In the American League, Zack Greinke has come a very long way. From being the #6 pick in the 2002 MLB Draft to a major-league leading 17 losses in 2005, and then suffering from social anxiety disorder and depression throughout the 2006 season, Greinke had his career season in 2009. Signing a four year, $38M contract in January with Kansas City, he returned on the first year of the investment, with a career best 16-8 record, and a major league leading ERA of 2.16, six complete games and three shutouts, and a career-high 242 strikeouts, which was second in the American League to Detroit Tigers’ ace Justin Verlander. The award is Greinke’s first Cy Young award, and he’s the first Royals’ pitcher to win since David Cone in 1994.

In the National League, “The Freak” goes back-to-back. Giants’ young ace Tim Lincecum barely won his second Cy Young Award for the National League, beating Adam Wainwright and Chris Carpenter of the St. Louis Cardinals. He went 15-7 on the season with a 2.48 ERA, and 261 strikeouts, which was tops in the National League. Lincecum became the 15th player in Major League history to win two or more Cy Young awards, and also became the youngest pitcher to win back-to-back awards in just his third season in the majors.

Next up on the MLB Postseason Awards- the Most Valuable Players of the American and National League.

(photos courtesy of Getty Images)


MLB Postseason Awards- Manager of the Year

The MLB Postseason Awards have been dealt out in the past couple of days, and while word awaits on the NL Cy Young Award winner (Zack Greinke of the Kansas City Royals won the AL Cy Young Award yesterday), we will assess that tomorrow or when the award is announced.

Today, however, the AL and NL Managers of the Year were announced, and the candidates were well deserving of the awards given, but maybe there was a better choice for one of them.

Mike Scioscia of the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim was named the American League Manager of the Year today, and although some people may say Joe Girardi should deserve the award after leading the Yankees to 103 wins and their 27th World Series Championship, but look at what Scioscia and the Angels had to endure: They suffered a devastating blow with the death of their future young ace, Nick Adenhart, and after allowing his players time to grieve for their fallen teammate, the Angels used Adenhart’s death as a rallying point and played for him. The end result was a 97-65 record, and their fifth AL West pennant in six years. The awareness of the circumstances was present among the voters, and it was a good job on their part to give Scioscia the award. The award is his second, after winning it the first time following the 2002 World Series ending in the Angels’ only crown.

Jim Tracy of the Colorado Rockies won the National League Manager of the Year in a season where he did not even start out as the manager. After an 18-28 and the Rockies trailing by 14 1/2 games in the NL West, the Rockies fired then-manager Clint Hurdle, and Tracy took over and guided the Rockies to a 74-42 record, and a Wild Card berth in the playoffs, before falling to the Philadelphia Phillies in four games in the National League Division Series. There was no dispute in this voting, as Tracy was the distant winner and becoming the second manager to win the award after taking over a team, joining Jack McKeon of the Florida Marlins in 2003. The same day he won the award, he was awarded with a three-year contract.

Stay tuned throughout the offseason for MLB news on TSX.